Building Confidence as a Freelance Writer

Self-doubt is something that every writer has to face. Dealing with rejection, negative thoughts, and fears can plague freelance writers to the point where they stop writing. Procrastination and writer’s block could be manifestations of a lack of confidence. Learning how to overcome self-doubt is crucial to success.

I have recently come to realize how much I have let my own self-doubts hinder my writing career. I have had some limited success, and some failure. I know exactly what it feels like to stare at the computer screen wondering if what I am thinking about writing will turn out to be any good. Doubts of future success have lingered in the back of my mind for pretty much my whole career. Once I acknowledged that I had some confidence issues, I was able to address them. I’ll admit that I am not as confident as I could be, but as time passes, my courage grows.

If you struggle with self-doubt, and you wonder if you will ever truly make it as a writer, be encouraged. Every successful writer has been there. Taking the first step is always the hardest. Once you get started, you will start to build confidence. My advice to you is to keep writing, put yourself out there, and learn ways to improve. It is not an easy road, and sometimes you will feel afraid, but don’t let that feeling stop you from writing. Celebrate every little accomplishment, and learn from criticism or rejection. If you are determined not to give up, the worst that could happen is that you will learn what not to do.

Remember that Success Road will intersect with Failure Lane and Mistake Street, but you don’t have to stop there. Just keep going; keep writing.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dailyfreelancewritingtips.wordpress.com/2009/04/09/building-confidence-as-a-freelance-writer/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] Daily Freelance Writing Tips This blog contains practical advice for freelance writers from Chesley Moldonado–such as how to build up confidence. […]

  2. […] Daily Freelance Writing Tips This blog contains practical advice for freelance writers from Chesley Moldonado–such as how to build up confidence. […]


Leave a Reply

