Do freelance writers need an editor?

Some freelance writers might need to hire an editor. I have stressed before that quality is important, and that proofreading and editing should be a part of what you do. At some point, your eyes might glaze over at the fact thought of looking over your work one more time. You may feel that it might be better to allow a new set of eyes to scan for typos, grammatical mistakes, cohesiveness, etc.

Should you hire an editor? That depends. If you are an efficient proofreader (and typist) and you have a tight budget, I would say that you might be better off without an editor. On the other hand, if you make frequent mistakes, have some extra cash flow, and don’t have time to look over every peice of work twice, you should consider hiring someone with an eye for detail and sharp grammatical skills.

If you oversee other writers, hiring an editor may be a good idea. I don’t have an editor, even though I do have writers that work for me. I choose not to have one because I prefer to look over the work myself before I submit it. My writers are also very good, so I don’t need to change much, if anything, when I look over their work. Down the road, if it gets to be too cumbersome, I probably will hire one.

So, what about you? Do you think you need an editor?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dailyfreelancewritingtips.wordpress.com/2009/04/25/do-freelance-writers-need-an-editor/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] https://dailyfreelancewritingtips.wordpress.com/2009/04/25/do-freelance-writers-need-an-editor/If you are an efficient proofreader (and typist) and you have a tight budget, I would say that you might be better off without an editor. On the other hand, if you make frequent mistakes, have some extra cash flow, and don’t have time … […]

  2. “I don’t have an editor, even though I do have writers that work for me.”

    Hate to be picky (and I know it’s just blog copy), but if you think the sentence above is without error, perhaps you should reconsider hiring an editor. Then again, that’s what I do full-time (on a freelance basis).

    One of my clients is a syndicated columnist who has been around big-city publishing for 40-50 years. He left his full-time gig more than 20 years ago and is published in 100+ papers now. He has always had an editor (it’s been me for the last 12 years), and the more I tear into his work, the better he likes it. I think most good writers — freelance or otherwise –realize the value of editors. And as an editor, I know I’d always want anything I was writing for publication to go through another editor first.

    • Thanks for your comment! You raise an important point. Having an editor can improve one’s own writing skills. Writer’s workshops and peer editing is also beneficial.

      Also, you are being picky, but I don’t mind when people point out my mistakes. I allow an occasional “mistake” when I am writing for my blog because the most important thing is that I get my point across. As long is the point is clear, and the error is not something that would confuse the average reader, I let certain things slide. If I had revised this post more, I would have definitely changed that sentence.

      As my business grows, I am sure that the need to hire an editor will arise. The time hasn’t come just yet. 🙂


Leave a Reply

