Using Multiple Freelance Writing Portfolios

Providing high quality samples of your work is a crucial element in gaining new business. While having a single portfolio can be extremely beneficial, having more than one portfolio can be a good idea, too.

Writers who take on a variety of writing projects can benefit from having separate portfolios. As a versatile writer myself, I have a diverse portfolio with individual samples that represent the range of styles I can provide. I plan to expand it, and separate academic writing form copywriting and sales, as well as apart from web article writing and newsletters.

I have found that not having a collection of samples from particular niches that I am quite capable of doing has hindered my ability to attract certain clients. I do have a range of samples, however, if a majority of my samples are different from the style that a client is looking for, they tend to move on to the next writer. I may very well have a single sample that is close to what they might be looking for, but two or three samples is always more reassuring to a buyer.

It makes sense to have groups of samples that reflect each type of writing separately. Buyers who are looking for a professional tone are not interested in seeing conversational style article on dating. A potential client looking for friendly and engaging blog posts don’t want to see technical reports. I think having mini portfolios that appeal specifically to certain buyers is a smart move, and I plan to take it. (I’m always looking for ways to improve.)

What is your portfolio like? Do you have a range of individual samples for different kinds of writing, or do you have sections with multiple samples for each type of writing? Do you have multiple portfolios?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dailyfreelancewritingtips.wordpress.com/2009/07/06/using-multiple-freelance-writing-portfolios/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It appears to me that too many portfolios are designer pieces. Yes we all love a great-looking portfolio of handsome samples, but that hardly exposes the writing talents. More emphasis needs to be placed on the emotions evoked from what is read, and how the reader responds.

    Putting that together with a decent design is a formula for successful portfolios.

    • I think that is a great comment, thank you. I agree that including work that is meaningful to the reader in addition to being high in quality would make a portfolio more complete.


Leave a Reply

