Writing Rituals

Many writers, if not all, have some sort of ritual. There is something that each writer will routinely do before they actually get started writing. This can be a very good thing, because people are creatures of habit. A writing ritual can get you into the proper mindset to get some work done. Everyone has something a little different that works for them, so my tip is to make one up, if you don’t have one already, or perhaps take notice of what you usually do before you can really get into writing. You may have a ritual, and you don’t know it.

My writing ritual goes like this: I check my email accounts, Facebook, Twitter, and blog stats. I will respond to important emails and plan out what needs to be done that day. I set up the files that I need or tab the websites that I am going to use, then I close my laptop. This is when I eat breakfast, exercise, shower, and tidy up. I cannot write unless I am fed, energized and organized. Once I get back to my computer, I check my messages again, look over my to do list, and get started.

What is your writing ritual like?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dailyfreelancewritingtips.wordpress.com/2009/07/14/writing-rituals/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. thats funny


Leave a Reply

