How to Write an Effective Outline

Yesterday, I wrote about the benefits of using outlines as a freelance writer. Here are some tips on writing an effective outline:

-Take the time to do some preliminary research before you write the outline.

-Give your outline three major sections: Introduction, Body, and Conclusion.

-Create a thesis or a descriptive statement explaining the central point or purpose of the piece to head your outline. (Part of the introduction)

-Start by listing all of your general points and then add specific details that explain each point. (Body)

-List your major points in the order that you will write about them. If you are making an argument, use your strongest points first. You make be able to follow your topic chronologically; if so, start from the beginning and move forward. (Body)

-You can use short phrases or words lists (a topic outline) or express your main points in sentence form (a sentence outline).

-You may not have a conclusion at the beginning when your outline is first written. If your research is not concluded, speculate about what your conclusion might be and write it down. Remember that it is best to not to use brand new information at the very end of your writing. It is better to incorporate your major points already mentioned into a final thought.

-Make use of your outline during the writing process. It can be especially helpful in keeping you on topic, or reminding your of your original thoughts in case you get stuck. At the same time, don’t be afraid to deviate from your outline if you stronger points, or if the focus that you chose did not work out.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dailyfreelancewritingtips.wordpress.com/2009/08/25/how-to-write-an-effective-outline/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! πŸ™‚

  2. Helped me a lot. Thanks!

  3. This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read…

    -Bill-Bartmann

  4. I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read…:)

    -Bill-Bartmann

  5. I don’t know If I said it already but …I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks, πŸ™‚

    A definite great read..

    -Bill-Bartmann


Leave a Reply

